☰ Revisor of Missouri


Chapter 262

< > Effective - 28 Aug 1995    bottom

  262.217.  State fair commission, created — commissioners, appointment, expenses, vacancies. — Effective September 1, 1995, there is created a "State Fair Commission" whose domicile for the purposes of sections 262.215 to 262.280 shall be the department of agriculture of this state.  The commission shall consist of nine members, two of whom shall be active farmers, two of whom shall be either current members or past presidents of county or regional fair boards, one of whom shall be the director of the department of agriculture, one of whom shall be employed in agribusiness, and three at-large members who shall be Missouri residents.  The director of the department of agriculture shall be the chairman of the commission until January 31, 1997, and shall not be counted against membership from a congressional district, at which time the chairman shall be elected from among the members of the commission by the commission members.  Such officer shall serve for a term of two years.  Commissioners shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred when attending meetings of the commission, to be paid from appropriations made therefor.  Commissioners shall be appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate.  The county fair association in the state may submit to the governor a list of nominees for appointment, three from each congressional district, for those commission members who are required to be current members or past presidents of county fair boards.  Not more than four commissioners excluding the director of agriculture shall be members of the same political party.  Each commissioner shall be a resident of the state for five years prior to his appointment.  The eight initial commissioners shall be appointed as follows:  two shall be appointed for terms of one year, two for terms of two years, two for terms of three years and two for terms of four years.  Their successors shall be appointed for terms of four years.  A commissioner shall continue to serve until his successor is appointed and qualified.  Whenever any vacancy occurs on the commission, the governor shall fill the vacancy by appointment for the remainder of the term of the commissioner who was replaced.  There shall be no more than two commission members from any congressional district.


(L. 1994 S.B. 692, A.L. 1995 S.B. 437)

---- end of effective  28 Aug 1995 ----

use this link to bookmark section  262.217

Click here for the Reorganization Act of 1974 - or - Concurrent Resolutions Having Force & Effect of Law
In accordance with Section 3.090, the language of statutory sections enacted during a legislative session are updated and available on this website on the effective date of such enacted statutory section. Revisor Home    

Other Information
 Recent Sections Editorials May Be Cited As Tables & Forms Multiple Enact
Repeal & Transfer Definitions End Report

Site changes Pictures Contact

Other Links
Legislative Research Oversight MOLIS
Library MO WebMasters
Missouri Senate
State of Missouri
Missouri House